Yesterday and today were the first two days of their kind, beautiful placid days on Geneva Lake, when I’ve not felt guilty for not taking the boat out.

We sold the SeaBell to another enthusiast on Saturday. Now I’m left with the memories, the hand-plaited rope bell pull, the French signaling horn, the 50-year-old log book, and hundreds of photos, some framed, some in flip-cases and many on the computer, of every inch of SeaBell and some of our outings.

I want to think about other boats whose decks I yearn to walk, but push away. It’s too soon. The funds raised from SeaBell will go to support my college cause-related communications awards program for a few more years, so I’m sure I’ll be reminded of her whenever the award ceremonies come around.

Always liked the feeling of knowing I had a boat on the lake, whether I was aboard her or not. Now I’m not sure what to think.

