A professor from a midwestern college suggested to me that Harvard University trademarked the word “Hahvahd” (see my previous blog, and see http://www.harvard.edu) because they wanted to protect themselves from its inappropriate use. If so, how pretentious is that?

P.S. My wife is watching “Social Network” as we speak.

P.P.S. Some years ago, I prepared a presentation on McDonald’s marketing strategies at the request of the Harvard Graduate School of Business, and accompanied our CMO to campus to make the presentation and handle student Q&A. True, McDonald’s isn’t rocket science, but there was more than a little interest in how a hamburger was grown into a Dow Jones 30 global organization.

P.P.P.S. Not everything is invented at Harvard.

P.P.P.P.S. Now I’ll probably get some comments on McDonald’s trademarks.

P.P.P.P.P.S. I don’t care, I’m retired.

